The 49th Winter Colloquium on the Physics of Quantum Electronics.

PQE-2019 was held January 6-11, 2019, in Snowbird, Utah, USA.

There was a reception on Sunday evening, January 6, in honor of the 2019 recipients of the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics. The winners are the three gurus of time in modern physics:

  • Paul Corkum of the University of Ottawa,
  • Don Page of the University of Alberta,
  • William Unruh of the University of British Columbia.

The conference sessions were Monday, January 7 through Friday, January 11, 2019.

  • PQE covers all of quantum physics, laser science, quantum and nonlinear optics, and much more.

  • Each year, PQE awards the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics.

  • PQE-2019 is sponsored by ACS Photonics.

  • PQE-2019 is sponsored by Advanced Research Systems.

  • PQE-2019 is sponsored by M-squared Lasers.

  • PQE-2019 is sponsored by Montana Instruments.

  • PQE is held in the beautiful Wasatch Mountains of Utah.

  • Our venue, the Cliff Lodge at Snowbird, is modern and comfortable.

Conference Program

We have posted the complete conference program which includes a list of all speakers and the schedule of talks. Note: the online version of the program has been updated since the abstract book was printed.

Best Abstract Award

The PQE-2019 Best Abstract Award was won by Ren-Min Ma of Peking University and Lan Yang of Washington University in St. Louis.

Special Issue

To celebrate the 49th PQE, a special issue of the Journal of Modern Optics is being prepared with select papers submitted by conference participants. More information is here.

PQE-2019 was sponsored by: